Station Break

[Fiction] Friday Challenge for September, 21 2007

Pick an unusual phobia and explain why a character has it.

  • Spend at least 5 minutes composing something original based on the theme or challenge.
  • But, remember, no editing. This is to inspire creativity not stifle it.
  • On Friday, simply post what you wrote to your own blog.
  • Then come back to Write Stuff and leave the link in the comment section of that week’s Fiction Friday post.

I found this website called The Phobia List which has an extensive listing of fears and phobias. I want to point out that everyone suffers from a phobia or fear of some kind and this post is in no way intended to mock or belittle anyone.

The word I found and the reasons for the story will be revealed at the end.

“Weekly Therapy”

“Hello my friends, my name is Rene LeFromage.”

“Hello Rene!”

“Thank you. I am sure you are all wondering why I am here. Me of all people. Although it pains me to say it, I have mageirocophobia.”

“That’s quite all right Rene. All of us in this group suffer as well. Here you are not alone and I hope by bravely admitting your disorder we can start your healing process.”

“I appreciate your kind words. I have been very troubled for years and despite my many culinary triumphs, this fear, this cruel disorder has stalked me through kitchen after kitchen.”

“If you don’t mind me asking, do you remember when mageurocophobia first struck?”

“A horrible day. It was during a wedding banquet when I had a sudden irrational fear that the wrong fungi was used in the sauce. I nearly ran screaming into the hall warning five hundred guests that their beef brisket was poisoned.”

“And was it?”

“Of course not. But ever since, I triple check every ingredient and insist on tasting every dish. I have driven away all my most competent assistants; my wife sleeps in the guest house and my children refuse to speak to me.”

“I am very sorry.”

“And then of course, last weekend was the final indignity.”

“Yeah I was matching man. That was brutal. Yo bro, you gotta keep it together. What else ya gonna do?”

“The station management said I could have as much time as needed to recover. My show will be in hiatus in the meantime. They even were gracious enough to offer me a slot doing the weekend weather forecast.”

“That is very generous and understanding of them.”

“I turned them down.”

“Why?”

“I have nephophobia as well.”

By Rose Dewy Knickers, September 20th, 2007

Mageirocophobia- Fear of cooking

Nephophobia- Fear of clouds

12 thoughts on “Station Break

  1. Good morning everyone. I realize that this is not up to my usual standards, but I couldn’t get into this prompt.

    ((((Marcia))))

    I am smiling cause it’s Friday.😀

    Hi Paul,

    Thank you.😉

    Paisley,

    Does this mean that many phobias you are familiar with?

    Rose

    xo

  2. (((Rose)))

    hey girl, what you saying… not up to your usual
    standard… I thought it was pretty darn cool and
    you rock sistah…

    I have a phobia… I really really do, but since I
    have this phobia, I don’t like even saying the word

    have a lovely weekend

    lotsa luv ann xxxxx

  3. Delightful. I wonder if the character will develop a fear of failing in front of a live studio audience? I wonder what that one’s called.

  4. Hi, Rose,

    I thought this one was well done. (Oops, sorry about the cooking pun — not intended … did you notice that the Phobia List didn’t include a fear of puns?)

    Suse

Leave a Reply

