Worldly

Hello everyone, this is Rose here for Sunday Scribblings. It’s been awhile since I’ve written for a prompt here. This weeks prompt is ‘Powerful’.

Online Etymology DictionaryCite This SourceShare This
power (n.)

1297, from Anglo-Fr. pouair, O.Fr. povoir, noun use of the infinitive in O.Fr., “to be able,” earlier podir (842), from V.L. *potere, from L. potis “powerful” (see potent). Meaning “a state or nation with regard to international authority or influence” is from 1726. The verb meaning “to supply with power” is recorded from 1898. Powerful is c.1400. Powerhouse “building where power is generated” is from 1881; fig. sense attested from 1915. Power-broker (1961) said to have been coined by T.H. White in ref. to the 1960 U.S. presidential election. Phrase the powers that be is from Rom. xiii.1. As a statement wishing good luck, more power to (someone) is recorded from 1842.

Online Etymology Dictionary, © 2001 Douglas Harper

This definition above is fairly typical of the English language. It is the most powerful language when it comes to creating new words and incorporating words from other cultures.

–adjective
1. having or exerting great power or force.
2. physically strong, as a person: a large, powerful athlete.
3. producing great physical effects, as a machine or a blow.
4. potent; efficacious: a powerful drug.
5. having great effectiveness, as a speech, speaker, description, reason, etc.
6. having great power, authority, or influence; mighty: a powerful nation.
7. Chiefly South Midland and Southern U.S. great in number or amount: a powerful lot of money.


[Origin: 1350–1400; ME powarfull. See power, -ful]

The question being do I feel powerful?Definition #1 doesn’t apply, nor does #2. I don’t exert power or force in any way. Definition #3 also does not apply nor does #4. Numbers six and seven refer to other means of power, which leaves only #5.

Do I Rose have ‘great effectiveness’ in my words? That would be determined by you, my readers. Certainly in terms of influence and understanding, my power is extremely limited. However, definition #5 clearly states that any person, place or thing can be powerful and that power is granted by outside forces rather than from within. It also implies that being powerful is a neutral state of being and can be used for any purpose.

So again, am I Rose a powerful person?

If being powerful means that people are affected by my words and thereby change their opinions or view of the world, then yes, Rose Dewy Knickers as a multiple personality is powerful.

24 thoughts on “Worldly

  1. I have always been a firm believer that the power of persuasion is greater than sheer brute force. Isn’t the pen mightier than the sword?

    Very enlightening take on the prompt. I need to visit here more often!

  2. well rose,, i for one feel power comes from within.. and the accolades we get in this life do more to polish the ego and boost the societal feelings we have of self worth,, than they do to imbue us with real power…

    you have ,, since the day i “met” you been a powerful force in my life,, as i gain personal power when i read your words….

    thank you my darling for just being you and being here… that to me is power…….

  3. Rose,
    You are a delight! I read a few other of your posts to make sure I understood you.
    I don’t completely understand you, but that is your power as a woman!
    I enjoyed your post.

  4. Welcome Herb,

    I have found little in the world today that supports words over force. I hope you do have time to visit more.

    Thank you Crafty!!!! 🙂

    ((((Paisley))))

    The feelings and power exchange are mutual. You know I revel in your powerful writings.

    Welcome Susan,

    You wouldn’t be the first who was lost here. Read the pages across the top of the blog. 🙂

    Rose

    xo

  5. Hi Rose! You are awesome and powerful — you and your words touch me deeply. You are also extremely wise, smart, funny, sensitive, warm, creative, honest, have great integrity, and inspire me with all of that! Rock on and have a great weekend!
    🙂

  6. Hello everyone from Sunday Scribblings. I know I haven’t been posting for this weekly prompt, but I do post two to three a week for other things. I hope to see you all for my other writings as well.

    Patois, I like being a winner, but that doesn’t mean anyone else is a loser. Not at all. Life is filled with wonders.

    Paris, speaking my mind is something I have no trouble with. I’m not always going to do do here.

    Hi Sarala,

    Thank you. Yes power comes from within, but we bestow power on others all the time.

    Clare, :ops:, you are so sweet. Thank you. I am having a great weekend.

    Frances, thanks for stopping by. *waving from Florida*.

    Diana, glad you enjoy my posts.

    I’m going to be writing for the next Writers Island post today.

    Rose

    xo

  7. Yes Rosy babe

    You are very powerful, you have so many ppl that love you for you. So many ppl that read your words and feel moved, and so many ppl that admire you!
    Power can be a soul and you are a powerfully amazing soul:)
    Luffies.
    🙂

  8. ((((Rose))))

    don’t for one moment believe you do not have
    the power within your mind your heart your soul
    to be all the other numbers too

    1) you have the power to come out front
    2) you have the power to write… physical effort
    required as well as mental
    3) well I’ll concede this one
    4) efficacious equals able to obtain results… you do
    5) yes yes yes… as you say
    6) you words influence and inspire… from tiny acorns
    might oaks grow. Rose, one day your words will
    be seen by many
    7) money shmoney… that kinda power doesn’t count

    *****************************

    power means able
    able capable potent
    inspirational

    …. that’s you my sassy sistah

    lotsa luv ann xxxxx

  9. (((((Ann))))

    Yes you were spammed
    My biggest fan
    Too many comments

    You are so sweet and kind and loving. I hope one day to be all that you say I am.

    Love you sistah

    Rose

    xo

    P.S. My own comment got spammed. 🙄

Leave a Reply

