Everything But the Sunset

Once more a week has passed on the Writers Island and the ferry has put into dock yet again. The gangway trembles under the rushing feet of bloggers as they stampede to stake their patch of paradise.

What’s the hurry? As this week’s prompt says, relax and try some renewal.

Since the Island is getting more crowded every week, I decided to go into business for myself. After all, someone needs to provide provisions to all the hungry and thirsty writers. Not to mention pen and paper. There is no internet or electricity on Writers Island, just lots of long sandy beaches, tall shade trees with hammocks and plenty of places to work on that all over tan. So without further ado, welcome to the grand opening of
Get Down Dewy‘.

Once upon a blog, (that’s a mandatory introduction), there was a place where poets met every Thursday to swap prose. Like most meetings do it started small and gradually through the mysterious process of linkage, it became so popular that the blog itself was overrun. Upon the demise of Thursday’s meet and greet poetry slam, many fragments spun off and some were washed up on the shores of a distant and deserted island. One such splinter went by the name of Rob.

‘I hereby claim this land in the name of the Great Scribe, the Muse who created us all.’ Men tend to get all emotional over things and planting the flag of poetry in the fertile soil of the island was something that Rob really enjoyed. But, he decided to take it one step further and declare this new land to be something different. ‘This shall be henceforth know to all of blogworld as a peaceful oasis where writers of all styles and desires can ply their sacred craft. Come with me to the Writers Island.’

It didn’t take long before his bold cry was heeded and by their millions, desperate writers in search of linkage descended upon the Island. To stave off the ruination of such untrammeled beauty, access was restricted to twice weekly. Once on Saturday when the prompt was issued, (by various means, including air drops by gulls) and then on Tuesday when regular ferry runs commenced starting at midnight local time. Said linkage was deposited –in environmentally sound containers– and as more and more passengers were disgorged, they were invited to take back with them any linkage which caught their eyes.

So to all my fellow travelers to this idyllic place, I hereby offer you my services as the proprietor of ‘Get Down Dewy’. I stock every type of liquid refreshment along with light snacks and fresh fruit. Brand new this week, is the ultimate in thirst quenching libations. A tall, cold glass of Renewal. It hits the spot.😀

By Rose Dewy Knickers, October 7th, 2007

46 thoughts on “Everything But the Sunset

  1. Rose –

    Thank you for paying such an amazing tribute to Writers Island.

    How very humbling for me to be a part of the focus of your post this week… I am indeed honored.😉

    And what a wonderful, engaging, and magical bit of writing! You’ve painted the island beautifully. Your piece is absolutely alive with imagery.

    I am so pleased that folks have found their way to the island. I hope all who are making the journey find it enjoyable and fulfilling. After all, this island truly belongs to all of us.

    Thank you again for your very kind words. I am touched.

    …Rob

  2. Kimberley: you and I are on the same
    wavelength😆

    erm… garcon, a double margarita please
    and if you could just cream me a little😉

    Rose, Rose, Rose… so is this why himself
    couldn’t/wouldn’t talk to little ol’ me, because
    he said you were writing… this is wonderful and
    I so admire everyone who links

    lotsa luv your unlinked sistah mwahx

  3. Good afternoon everyone. Not much going on today here, so I’ll so hi here.😀

    Thank you Jo. I’d make lots of money selling this. Want to be partners?

    Coming right up Kimberley. Is the candy cane a stirrer?

    You are most welcome Rob. I know how much work it is to maintain a blog and provide prompts. Just wanted to say thank you.

    ((((Ann))))

    Lots of linkage and cream for you my dear. No writing today I’m afraid.

    Rose

    xo

  4. Sweet Rose, you have done again.. I’ll have some of this RENEWAL. I want to line up(starts here-no pushing please) and have something at” Get Down Dewy” Ah, that will be a very dry martini (lol). Wonderful, you are so talented.

    love you, Melanie-bd

    and now I must take a brake!

  5. You got me grinnin’, Get Down Dewy! I’ll have a double Renewal, neat, if you please. With a vodka cloud chaser.

    Thank you, kindly🙂

    Loved your post!

  6. Thanks Gilson. Get Down Dewy is known island wide for her imagination.😉

    A double welcome Mark. Coming right up.

    A grin from Deb is worth its weight in olives.

    Yes sir Mr. Wells. There’s a seat next to Deb.

    Rose

    xo

  7. AT the end of my workday, waiting for my ride home I check in here via Writer’s Island and see that it’s happy hour!!! Goody!

    A tall glass of renewal dewy with an umbrella and a swizel stick please? Oh, and a twist of zesty lime too?

    Great post. Very tasty

  8. Yes indeed, Happy Hour is always on at the Island. What color umbrella? Red it is, and say hi to all the other patrons.

    Marja, right on time, wouldn’t dream of starting without you.

    Rose

    xo

  9. Come on in Tumble. Laughter is free.😆

    Thanks for loving.

    Rose

    xo

    One that note, I am off my shift, so help yourselves and I’ll see y’all tomorrow for Three Word Wednesday. Feel something good coming on.

  10. “Get down, get down
    Get down tonight!”
    I’ll have a double Renewal straight up, thank you very much.

  11. haha This is too funny, Is Rob sporting a leopard loin cloth?? I will take my fresh fruit in my cold cosmo please. ( Fantastic, creative post!!) :))

  12. Rose… how lucky we are to have your talent here with us all… I too will take one of your specialties, could use a glass of renewal, I could… and any splash of anything else you deem to make it proper will be greatly appreciated!!! Thanks or the visit… has the ferry left yet???

  13. Rose,
    Most impressive bit of writing. Sorry I’m late! Would a Beam and Coke be too much trouble?? I assume I can put that on my tab. “Here’s to you, my dear!”

  14. Hi Rose! I’d like a Diet Pepsi (I’m driving, uh, I mean rowing!) and BBQ potato chips, please. I love what you wrote — very cool! 🙂

  15. What a nice tribute to Writers Island … very witty … I enjoyed it very much … and now I’d like some fresh fruits please and I think I might try one of them tall glasses of renewal too😉

  16. Good morning everyone!!! I can see y’all had a great party overnight.😉

    Robin, I’ve got plenty of frillies to go around.

    Welcome Danae, I am so happy that you like my voice. I try to be real.🙂

    Pepe, it is/was a very cool party. Drink is on the way. Under the umbrella.

    ((((Claire)))))

    You know it girl. How about that sunset! That calls for another round.

    Lucy, fruit cup and loin cloth. Oh my! I can see you’d start the conga line going.😉

    Lea, the last ferry leaves before midnight, hop on board. A glass or two of Renewal and you’ll be feeling fine.

    Dan, on your tab is fine. We’ll settle up next week. Never too late for a party.

    Herb, you and Lucy ought to get along just fine.😉

    Gillian, light twist for you. The dance floor is calling.

    Steve, the bar is wherever you are baby.

    Clare, you and Pepe can share that umbrella. I don’t think she’s going to be rowing though.😉

    Fenny, there’s plenty of Renewal left. It’s the magic of the Island.

    Hi Jane, so good to see you back here. You’ve been missed. I hope all is well in your future.

    Rose

    xo

  17. Rose..daahharling you throw the most divine parties..;) make mine a margarita and light on the salt but heavy on the good times!! see you soon, can’t wait..then we can sit by the pool and have some of those very special margaritas Carol makes for us..yum…love ya..madd

  18. Yes the island surely is a place for renewal. Much more than just some linkage, the comments to this post reveal the camaraderie and just plain fun that can be had with a word prompt and a bit of inspiration. If you need any help behind the bar, I’m happy to lend a hand🙂

  19. (((((Madd))))))

    So glad you could make it and bring Carol. She’s the expert at tending bar.😉 Sitting by the pool sounds divine.

    Hi Matthew,

    I can always use help. The more hands the merrier. This is fun and it’s supposed to fun after all.

    Rose

    xo

  20. Rose – that has to be the most original way of working the prompt into a post that I have seen this week!

    I lOVE IT!

    Any chance of a Sloe Gin? I’m currently making some, so I’ll bring my own if necessary.

Leave a Reply

