An “Enchanted” Movie Review and assorted Moments from my life and the future possibilities

The Writers Island for this week has a prompt called ‘The Moment’. Today was filled with such moments for me. Diane and I went to see the movie “Enchanted” and then went to lunch together at Olive Garden. We talked about my future and what I needed to do to make my moments happen. The first thing for me is my book and writing career.

I decided to move forward with my book and begin the process of contacting a literary agent. (Already received it back with a rejection) This is the email letter I sent off:

My name is Rose Dewy Knickers and I am a multiple personality. I am a woman who lives in a man’s body and I am currently writing my first book. “Knickers Abroad; A multiple journey” is based on our vacation trip to London and Paris in October of 2007.

The ten day journey is covered within twenty-two chapters containing 35,000 words and twenty black and white pictures. Based upon observations gleaned from my personal travel diary, the book also contains extensive interviews with the friends I met along the way. At times serious and thought provoking, I also write with normal sassy humor and passion for life. Combining facts with my unique insight into the people and places I visited, “Knickers Abroad” offers a chance for singulars to read how a multiple personality copes with the everyday life taken for granted.

The moment I sign a contract and my book is published and available worldwide, is a moment I dream about. It’s going to be very, very interesting.

Diane and both loved the movie “Enchanted” and if you haven’t seen it yet, I highly recommend seeing this picture.

The movie begins with “When you wish upon a star” and since I hadn’t know it was a Walt Disney production, I was a little apprehensive that it would be sweet and cloying. The opening musical number is all Disney as it introduces a virginal girl who lives in a fairytale house in a tree with a group of talking forest animals for her friends.

1. Fairy tale country of Andalasia?

2. Beautiful animated girl who sings, dances and has a perfect figure?

3. Handsome young prince looking for true love?

4. Evil stepmother Queen with dark magic powers?

5. Traitor who works for the Queen?

6. Faithful companion to the girl, a chipmunk named Pip?

The plot is simple, if the prince gives a girl the kiss of true love, then the evil Queen will lose her throne for all time. To forestall this from happening, her henchman Nathaniel -played by Timothy Spall- has been charged with the task of keeping the prince apart from his one true love forever and ever. When he fails and the forest girl Giselle- portrayed by Amy Adams- meets Prince Edward- swashbuckling James Marsden- they fall in love at first sight and plan a wedding on the morrow.

Queen Narissa- wicked Susan Sarandon- intercepts the giddy and hapless Giselle on the way to the altar and in the guise of the Old Hag, tricks her into viewing the Wishing Well. At which point, Narissa shoves Giselle into the well and down she falls. Thus endith the animated portion of the film.

Next up, literally, Giselle emerges through a manhole cover into the real world. New York City actually, in the center of Times Square. Completely bewildered by this turn of events and by that fact that she has a three-dimensional body, Giselle wanders the streets and subway and winds up being rescued by Robert Phillip- a cynical Patrick Dempsey. Robert is the father of six-year old Morgan- a very smart Rachel Covey- and he’s a jaded divorce lawyer who’s trying to work up the courage to ask his girlfriend of five years Nancy Tremaine- Idina Menzel-to marry him.

At this point you might be forgiven in thinking that the movie couldn’t possible work, but in fact “Enchanted” is a wonderful, marvelous, stunning achievement. Giselle discovers that her powers work in the real world as well and the scene when she calls animals to her to help clean-up Robert’s dirty apartment is hysterical. You can imagine what animals she has to work with in New York City and her pure spirit, after being taken aback at first, shines through. She proceeds to turn Robert’s life upside down and her insistence that ‘true love’ not only exists, but that Prince Edward will come for her at anytime, is what carries the movie until near the end.

At first you wait, impatiently, while Giselle smiles her way through the city and you wonder when she’ll wake-up and become an adult. Robert is frustrated by his awakening feelings for her and tries to show her that her naïveté is not charming, but silly and shallow. In the audience, we sympathize with him, but root for her. The best production in the entire film is “That’s How You Know” which is Giselle’s answer to our questioning of her sincerity. The musical song and dance number makes its way through Central Park and I found myself wanting to freeze the action and rewind to listen to it again and again.

Prince Edward shows up and then Nathaniel and Pip; the rest of the picture is conflict and resolution. In the end, Giselle learns that true love is not what she thought it was and Robert discovers that he can fall in love in again.

Amy Adams is amazing as Giselle and never at any point in the movie did you feel that the character was playing false. She truly was love and this is a happy, romantic film that will leave you smiling and humming along. I give “Enchanted” five…

TiaraTiaraTiaraTiaraTiara

35 thoughts on “An “Enchanted” Movie Review and assorted Moments from my life and the future possibilities

  1. I’m so happy you sent the email out! I am looking forward to reading “Knickers Abroad”! And sooner than later!

    It is great that you and Diane get those chats together, Rose.

  2. The movie sounds fun. I am sorry about the rejection — keep trying, one day your print will come (I know, terrible, I best skedaddle)!

    Love, me xxxxx

  3. Hmmm, maybe I will take my daughter along…. and take a peek, been ages..thank you for the review and good luck with the publishing, I would love to read your book…thank you.

  4. Hi UL, take more than a peak, it’s a film for adults as well. I hope to have my book published next year some time.

    Gautami, I kinda figured this would be a movie you’d like.😉

    Rose

    xo

  5. Good luck with the book! You have the right attitude and an interesting perspective. I enjoyed the review which made me want to go and see ‘Enchanted’. I’m not sure if it’s out yet in the U.K. I love fairy tales.

  6. Book Blues? I’m sorry, dear, but just be patient.

    Miss Pinky and I went to see Enchanted and we LOVED it! you did a great description of the movie and I agree, I wanted to rewind ” That’s How You Know” and do it all over again!! We clapped in the movies!!

    Hope you are doing well! HUGS and SMUSHES!!

  7. Thank you Water. I’m trying to take one moment at a time.😉
    Yes do see the movie when it comes out, you won’t be disappointed.

    ((((((Pinky)))))

    I will be patient.🙂

    It’s a great movie, Diane and I loved it. I clapped too.

    Are we going to see you????

    Rose

    xo

  8. I loved Enchanted. One of my favorite “moments” was the prince stabbing the foul evil beast and the driver’s response and Pip in her hair… we would have dropped our popcorn if we had had some we were laughing so hard! You keep sending out those proposals, there’s an agent and editor out there looking for YOU!!!!

  9. Enchanted has even received good reviews in Paris! Am hoping to see it soon. Lovely review, Rose. And good luck with that book!

  10. Hello Robin. Me too. I know I have to be patient and I am, but each moment I spend on my book, I realize how much I enjoy the process.

    Lea, that was a great scene and so true. There were so many laughs and none of them felt contrived. I know there’s someone looking for my book(s).

    Hello Paris, I hope you get a chance to see “Enchanted” soon. Good luck on your books as well.

    Tumble, when at first you don’t succeed, email, email, email.🙂

    Rose

    xo

  11. Hope you will get to live your moment.

    Haven’t seen Enchanted but it sounds like a movie I would enjoy, though I am not one for musicals.

  12. I hear tell it can take up to twenty rejections before you get that long awaited “YES” Be patient and persistent! Can’t wait to see the movie! Thanks for the reviews on it!

  13. Me too Lissa. One of many moments.😉

    I think you’d like the movie, there’s only a few musical moments.

    Giggles, at that rate I can wallpaper the loo. What? Already been done? Well shucks.😀

    Rose

    xo

  14. I’ve never been to theatre since I came to America last year ~ the adjustments I need to do in my life as an immigrant from the Philippines make me sacrifice some of the luxuries in life – watching a movie is one of them. This one sounds interesting. Thanks for sharing with us bits and pieces, as if I have watch it already with your great writing.

    Your soon to be published book sounds interesting, too. I know you will find soon the perfect publisher for your book ~ it would be a match made in heaven. Fairytales could happen, if we believe.

    I wish you well.

    ~ Jeques

  15. Fantastic for you, Rose. Sorry I didn’t make it by sooner. I appreciate your visit, but a family crisis made it difficult to venture beyond my friends. But things are better now, at least a little bit.

    Your book sound fascinating. A literary agent is the way to go. Keep sending it around, and you will find someone who believes in your work as much as you do.

    Take care

  16. Having been rejected more than not with my writing and with my beading, I can truthfully say it has more to do with what they want that they don’t know they want than talent or good writing. Try again.

    I’m still enjoying Becoming Jane and Elizabeth, but I’m sort of a stick in the mud so Enchanted isn’t my kind of film.

  17. I wish you all the luck in the world with your book. keep on going. I will look out for it in the book shop. That movy sounds really enchanting It sounds like my kind of thing.

  18. Good morning everyone. Another bright, hot day in Florida. It’s supposed to be in the mid-80’s by the weekend. Love this weather.🙂

    ((((Eric))))

    Don’t you worry by me. I hope your aunt pulls through and recovers. I’m glad you like the book.

    Thanks for the thoughts Mary. It’s funny, but I was doing some reading last night and you are so right. It’s what someone is looking for, not what is good.

    Marja, I will let you know the soonest it is published. And go see the movie, you’ll love it.

    Welcome SweetGuy. Glad you like me and my moments.😉

    Why thank you Frances. It/when I get back to New York, I’ll sign your copy.

    Herb, that is such a sweet comment. I write what I feel, so I’m very happy you like visiting me.

    Rose

    xo

  19. I sure would love to read ‘Knickers Abroad’ nd will pray it sees light of day soon.
    And now I want to see enchanted…it does sound lovely

  20. I absolutely loved the movie. The one thing I’d have liked to see done differently, though: it would have been interesting to see the heroine end the movie happily single after rejecting Prince Edward & fixing the relationship between the lawyer and girlfriend.

    There aren’t many “happily ever after on your own” films out there, and we need more of them.

Leave a Reply

