When yes and no are the same

Inappropriate
Order
Shortcut

“Zen Writing”

it is inappropriate to loudly proclaim to the Universe the talent that seeks an outlet in ink on parchment

it is a shortcut to believe that casting words to the night airs shall lead to instant monetary success

it is on the order of hubris to demand attention from an agent when the yes and no are the same pleas

By Rose Dewy Knickers, July 9th 2008

As a postscript I did indeed send off my query letter, overview and sample chapter to a literary agent last night and will now wait 6-8 weeks for a reply. It is true though that yes and no are the same for whatever the outcome, it does not change who I am, does not change what I believe. I am Rose, I am woman, I am loved.

18 thoughts on “When yes and no are the same

  1. “Dear Author:

    Thanks so much for letting us take a look at your materials and please forgive us for responding with a form letter. The volume of submissions we receive, however, makes it impossible to correspond with everyone personally. Unfortunately, the project you describe does not suit our list at this time. We wish you the best of luck in finding an agent and publisher for your work and we thank you, once again, for letting us consider your materials.”

    Well that was a fast rejection. A form letter rejection though means they didn’t actually take the time to read, so I’m not bummed. On to the next agent on my list. 😀

    Rose

    xo

  2. Oh, Rose! I am so sorry. They missed out, that’s for sure. Buttheads probably never even read it.

    Onward! Next time, don’t use ME as a good luck charm! 😆 OXOX D

  3. Rose you should be submitting to at least five agents a week. And yes, the form rejection means they never looked at it. The really personalized rejection means they like you, they like you! But….

  4. Thanks everyone, I just sent out the next query letter and even if it takes 100 or 1000 letters, somewhere there exists an agent that believes in my words and wants to get my books published.

    Rose

    xo

  5. in the wise words of Barry White… “Never never never gonna stop! Never never never gonna quit”
    Hope you never quit trying!

  6. You have a fabulous attitude about this, and I agree: a fast, form rejection means they didn’t even read it. You’ll get there eventually🙂

Leave a Reply

