Writing as a vocation

A site called Write On Wednesday asks the following question this week.

So, how about you?  What do the three P’s of writing…practice, pleasure, profit…mean in your writing life?

At 3WW this is the weekly prompt.

Avoid
Class
Sticky

I’ve always written for pleasure with my blog, no matter the content. For me writing of course is the sole means of communication and one that gives me great pleasure. There is no topic or word I avoid, I prefer life in the raw although I realize there are many taboos in all cultures. Yet the words still endure, the phrases and cliches that represent something beyond letters. With diligent practice writing becomes something more, something tangible that communicates emotions and experiences of others. With fiction there is less urgency, less sense of being in class and following strict rules. Any subject matter can be brought to life in fiction and the characters and plots that endure are the ones with reality as the focus. No matter the actual setting, a great fiction book will draw the reader in and place them as an observer.

Non-fiction can be sticky; the slightest error and the entire tome is invalidated. To write an engaging story that combines a textbook with a journal and succeeds in making real people and places read like fiction; that is the goal of every non-fiction writer. Having completed a manuscript about myself I’m trying to find a literary agent and sell my words for profit. But to be completely honest, that is not the reason I write. I took a break for the last few months and Monday I returned to my novel and finished chapter 15. There are major differences between the two works. For my novel, the place is still vague and it’s the characters who shine the brightest. For my narrative memoir, it’s our words and in the travel portion, the places that stand out, while I take the role of narrator and guide. That I believe is the true role of a writer; to be a guide. To take the reader’s hand and help them into your story.

“The strange guide”

Welcome, good morning and please, step right through the door. My name is Rose Dewy Knickers, but you can call me Rose. It’s a great pleasure to have you all here today and I do hope you enjoy the tour. I must warn you though, be careful and avoid making presumptions, the story will not unfold the way you believe; there is always… a twist. I see some of you nodding your heads, you have seen this twist before. It takes practice to write a proper twist, the kind that loops simultaneously backwards and forwards in the plot. You are puzzled? Don’t be; think of it this way. When you remember something, is it in a file? On a sticky note? Or is it just… there? There is no time stamp on a memory, no rigid format. Memories are fluid and a great story will profit from this function called remembrance. When you write, create words, sentences, paragraphs and chapters that invoke the reader’s memories without resorting to obvious ploys. Be subtle, be cautious yet be bold. Do not write to a class structure, but instead seek to melt the boundaries between the neuron gaps. Pardon? Oh, no that’s not potpourri, that’s breakfast; cinnamon toast, coffee and hot chocolate: fresh strawberries and cantaloupe with slices of camembert and Havarti. Please, help yourselves, the table is set; the flowers were cut this morning, I have a garden out back. Yes, that’s lavender and basil you smell; rosemary too, it’s quite pleasant in my cottage at dawn, the sun rising, the dew reflecting the new day. Very peaceful and conducive to writing. You’re welcome to stay as long as you like.

16 thoughts on “Writing as a vocation

  1. first, this blog has a great name – and from one who is not at home in the world to another – keep on keepin’ on . . .

    As for breakfast, yours sounds glorious. Thanks for inviting me.

  2. There is no time stamp on a memory. Loved that–though I get hung up on “no rigid format.”

    Thanks Rose for a post I could relate to very much–writing both a memoir and novel also

    for me blogging will have to take a big back seat–but my realtors are having nervous breakdowns and I’m the client so I have the added pressure of trying to sell an apartment with realtors who suffer from TMI among other things

  3. Rose!

    Fantastic! Love the little “nook” you got here. the flowers are gorgeous! Is there tea?

    OXOX D 😀

  4. “With diligent practice writing becomes something more, something tangible that communicates emotions and experiences of others.”

    A great sentence, Rose, and one that sums up my feelings about the practice of writing.

    I also really like the idea of the writer as a guide – I’ll be reflecting on that a lot this week.

    Thank you for adding your insights to Write On Wednesday!

    And breakfast was delightful 😉

  5. as you know rose,, even tho i walk in the physical world, i always feel that writing is my only real voice too.. my muse has been very silent as of late..and it is funny,, but i am lonely for her,, as if she too was a “real person”,,,

  6. ((((Rose))))

    “You’re welcome to stay as long as you like.”

    Hmmmm… tempting… I just may not leave! ever!

    your ‘can’t be bothered to write or blog’ sistah

  7. Breakfast, gardens, and writing. I’m on my way. Oh, that was last week, grin.

    “Do not write to a class structure, but instead seek to melt the boundaries between the neuron gaps.”

    Loved the way you worded that, Rose.

    Lunch, yes!

Leave a Reply

