End of year recap

This week for Sunday Scribblings the prompt is late. Not ‘late’ but the word ‘late’. 🙂

I thought of the fact that it is late in the year. Of course it’s arbitrary based on what calendar you use, I understand that, but human beings need closure and an end-of-year recap is traditional.

My year began and ends with my travel book and in between the multiple rejections from literary agents. Self-publishing will be the next step in 2009. My novel is stalled, I haven’t written a word for many months past 33,000. Instead I have written many short stories and submitted them to various literary journals both online and in print. I enjoy writing and short stories fit my life better than long book formats. That’s not to say I don’t have many, many ideas for novels because I do, but I find it difficult right now to focus for the length of time needed to really write.

Of late I’ve been very depressed and moody. The economy and his job are having a negative affect on our lives for the past four months and we are searching for a better way. I really want to contribute to the household and my writing ability is the best path possible. It’s a tough, tough job though and you don’t have a steady paycheck: or any paycheck at all. But I want to help, I need to be part of the family more than I am.

Next week we go away for vacation and meet up with our friends in south Florida. Plus Ann is flying in from England again as she did back in March. That’s three times we’ll have met in person in fourteen months. All because she stumbled across his poetry blog two years ago. Making friends via blogging has been the best part of my life and I feel so grateful that so many of you have stuck with me.

It’s never too late to say I love you.

Rose

xo

14 thoughts on “End of year recap

  1. I love you, Rose
    I’ve loved you from the first time we met on facebook and though you seem to disappear very time we plan to meet I keep finding you at times on purpose and at times by accident.
    I’ve really enjoyed reading your poems. You are a very creative and lovable person and I hope that we will remain friends forever
    love, Ziva

  2. Can’t wait to see you all next week.

    Your stories will get y’all to England. You have a goal, the words flow, and they command attention. Focus and it will happen.

    Merry Christmas, Rose.

  3. Merry Christmas! Here’s to the unraveling of the mind so that your creativity will flow. I, by no means, am a writer in your stature or even close to it! The little pieces I do write even take great effort and quiet time for a few number of words. I can’t imagine writing a book!

  4. Rose, with all my heart, I wish you success. I’ve had many disappointments during my long life, but I can’t, for the life of me, imagine the torment you must face when receiving a rejection slip. No, I take that back. Because I have come to love you as a friend, I do feel your disappointment. May 2009 be “your year”. Love, Mary

Leave a Reply

