When friends argue

Three Word Wednesday.

Ache
Difference
Suffer

________________________________________________________________________

“The difference between you and I is that you have no center,” she said with a stern voice.

“That’s crap and you know it. Ever since you went to that retreat you’re a different person,” I sharply retorted.

“I am the same person I was before, merely more rounded and aware,” she complained.

“That is not true. All you talk about is how the retreat made you suffer,” I complained peevishly.

“Why is that bad? I did suffer and ache every evening from the exertions of contemplation,” she rejoined.

“You call meditation an exertion? Please! I run ten miles every day and you don’t hear me whining about the aches and pains,” I forcefully stated.

“Which proves my point. You run to escape the truth of your existence instead of centering and letting life flow through you,” she serenely replied.

“I give up. There’s no reasoning with you. Are you going to finish that cheesecake?” I hungrily asked.

“Hell yes! Get your own dessert you greedy mooch,” she said with a laugh.

“Some friend you are! I thought we shared everything?” I pouted.

“That’s another difference between you and I,” she smugly responded.

“Oh?” I questioned.

“I finish what I start,” she said and popped the last crumb of cheesecake in her mouth. “You get the check.”

By Rose Dewy Knickers, October 22nd, 2008

14 thoughts on “When friends argue

  1. Thank you one and all for continuing to come here every week to read my 3WW. I am of course posting daily on Bawdy Wench so feel welcome to stop there to read my short questions about life.

    I am working on a short story to enter to a fiction contest or submit to a literary journal depending on how it goes. Brian may be getting a new job next week so our blogging schedule will be turned around drastically. I intend to keep my two blogs at the same pace however and focus on writing and my books. Still searching for a literary agent but not frantically.

    Other than that I’m doing alright, suffering the normal ache that is the difference between a published author and one who has piles of manuscripts gathering dust.

    Rose

    xo

  2. Great story. I wish you well on your search for an agent – and looking forward to you letting us know when you enter the fiction piece, so we can read it.

  3. True friends, you gotta love them. You can say anything and they come back for more, but they won’t share their cheesecake. 😦 Great piece.
    Good luck with everything, and I just started checking out your blog with your questions, it’s lots of fun.

  4. Hello Rose~ Hope all is well with you. Sounds like you and Brian are going to be a bit busy. Tell Brian I hope he gets that new job and that he’s happy with it.

    Your fiction was really good. It truly sounded like two friends arguing, knowing they would still continue being friends afterwords. Nice job.

    Good luck with your agent hunt. Have a nice day.

  5. I’ve never understood people who need, or use retreats as a necessity for “finding themselves”. And, while I have always enjoyed any vacations I have taken, I have never used them thinking that when I returned, situations, whatever they were, would have changed during my absence. I remember the one time I joined a few members of a small local Unitarian/Universal church for a week end trip, I was wishing I had stayed home. The weather turned cold, I had not taken a sweater, there was but one thin blanket on the uncomfortable cot and the overhead faucet in a nearby shower sprung a leak. When we arrived home just before midnight Sunday, the driver of the bus tried to persuade me to allow him to drive me home, alone, instead of calling for my husband to come for me.

Leave a comment